Tra-la-laaaa!!

Those of you with school-aged boys will no doubt know exactly what that title means. It’s the catch-cry of none other than … Captain Underpants!!

For those who don’t know who Captain Underpants is, let me introduce you:

Captain underpants1

Captain Underpants is a series of children’s books written by Dav Pilkey. The books feature two fourth graders, George Beard and Harold Hutchins. Captain Underpants is the superhero they accidentally create by hypnotising their school principal, Mr Krupp.

Whenever Mr Krupp hears the sound of fingers snapping, he turns into Captain Underpants. This causes George and Harold to follow him and keep him out of trouble. Captain Underpants turns back into Mr Krupp when water is poured on his head.

There are also plenty of other interesting characters in the books. There are the other teachers at George & Harold’s school (Ms Ribble, Mr Meaner, Ms Creant, Mr Fyde, Mr Rected and Ms Guided). There is George & Harold’s nemesis (Melvin Sneedly). There are the evil villians (Dr Diaper, The Turbo Toilet 2000, Professor Pippy Pee-Pee Poopypants, The Talking Toilets, Wedgie Woman, The Robo-Boogers and the Bionic Booger Boy).

I think you can see why young boys REALLY enjoy these books. Toilets, underpants, wedgies and boogers. What could be better?

Anyway, Ethan absolutely LOVES the Captain Underpants series, and owns all the books (10 of them, I think). He wanted to have a “Captain Underpants” party for his birthday. Thinking that letting Ethan and his friends enjoy a day of permissible toilet humour would make us look like pretty cool parents, Rob & I were more than happy to oblige. And, just quietly, I think we pulled it off. ;-)

First, I made some special invitations to send to his friends. Now, Professor Poopypants was always teased because of his silly name, so in an act of revenge, he decides to change everybody else’s names. In one of the books, there is a chart where you can figure out your new Professor Poopypants name. So, you guessed it, the invitations were addressed to:

Buttercup Girdle Brains,
Gidget Waffle Tush,
Poopsie Bubble Chunks,
Zippy Girdle Fanny,
and Falafel Toilet Buns.

Classy.

When the kids arrived at the party, they received a name tag with their “new” name on it. Yes, the adults wore them too (my parents and sister were thrilled). My new name, Cheeseball Toilet Buns, is rather endearing, don’t you think? ;-)

Everybody was offered a drink of “Toilet Water” (punch). A couple of kids declined. Haha!

Ethan opened his presents:

DSCN6061

DSCN6064

The kids gorged themselves on pizza, worm and dinosaur lollies, crazy face biscuits and chips.

DSCN6065

Finally, it was time for the games to begin! First up, Rob had prepared a Captain Underpants Treasure Hunt. The clues were all related to stories and characters from the books, and eventually led to a bag of Crunchie bars hiding in the branches of our grapefruit tree.

Next up, we played Pin the Cape on Captain Underpants. This was an absolute hoot! We’d done a similar version (Pin the Tie on Sponge Bob) 2 years ago, so knew that it would be a hit with the boys. There was much celebrating (yelling, fist pumping and chest bumping) whenever somebody got close.

DSCN6067

DSCN6071

DSCN6072

DSCN6073

Then it was time for Pass the Parcel (a birthday party staple). The prizes were mini whoopie cushions and “toilet candy” (lollies inside a plastic toilet).
Yep, the boys were in HEAVEN.

DSCN6076

We actually ran out of time to play all the games I had planned, including Underpant Flinging, but we did have time for the best one of all. The Chocolate Game! Each time they rolled a 6, the kids had to dress up as Captain Underpants by putting on a red cape and a big pair of (BRAND NEW AND NEVER WORN) white underpants.

DSCN6079

DSCN6080

DSCN6083

I have not laughed so much in AGES!! Honestly, it was the funniest thing ever. Every time the person in the middle had to take off the costume, they would forget about the undies! Then everybody (my parents included) would yell out, “Take off your undies!!” and everybody would just collapse with laughter. SO. MUCH. FUN. We ended up stopping before the chocolate was all gone, because I was worried they were going to be sick!

Pizza + lollies + biscuits + chips + chocolate + lots of laughing = WHOA.

Sure enough, here’s Ethan’s friend Nathan looking a little seedy and pretending to throw up into his plastic toilet:

DSCN6084

By this stage, the party was almost over. BUT, we hadn’t done the cake! I knew nobody would want to eat any, so I wrapped pieces up for them to take home. Of course, Ethan wanted an Underpants Cake.

DSCN6055

DSCN6086

Pretty basic, really, but the kids loved it! When I became a mum, I honestly never imagined I would have to make an underpants cake. But hey, that’s boys for ya! And I’m secretly glad that I’ll never have to make a frilly pink ballerina cake. Ssshhh! ;-)

Ethan thanked us several times that evening for his birthday party, so I know he enjoyed it and appreciated our efforts to make it fun. His friends did seem to think we were pretty cool for letting them be silly and gross for an afternoon, so that’s a bonus. ;-) I just hope none of them threw up when they got home!

31 thoughts on “Tra-la-laaaa!!

  1. Sounds like an awesome party Hannah – no doubt i will learn all about Capitan Underpants in the years to come.

  2. What an amazing party! Haven’t discovered those books yet, but am sure they will be a hit for Finn when he starts reading them!

  3. Okay that is sooo stinking cool!!! We’ve read 4 of the books (of course, with 2 boys ;)) but I wouldn’t have thought of all the cool games you did!!!

    What is the pass the parcel game and how do you play?

  4. Oh wow…. that sounds totally fun. Liam is just getting into the whole Captain Underpants… it does sounds like a really fantastic and easy party to pull off… might have to keep that one up my sleeve for a later birthday for Liam and his mates…thanks for sharing …

  5. Hannah, you and Rob are such awesome and creative parents! That looks like an absolutely amazing party!!

  6. what a lot of fun. I am already looking forward to reading these books to Jared now, Hannah- so thank you :)

  7. Yay! You and Rob ROCK! I’m gonna hire you for my next party… How about a frilly ballernia cake, huh?
    ;)

    I’m glad Ethan and his friends had a good time. Would have loved to be a fly on the wall that day!!

  8. What a super-cool sounding party – I wish I was invited! Love the sound of all the chocolate game antics! well done you two.

  9. hey that is what parties are for!!! all those types of foods…..as for that cake!! love it!!!
    and that chocolate game…I remember that one!!!

  10. what an awesome party. I was laughing at the chocolate game and the “underpants comments”. What a respuonding success and I dare say it was the talk of the classroom on Monday.

    Awesome job Hannah and Rob.

    • Hehe, apparently it was THE topic for story writing in class on Monday morning! With 3 of the party guests in Ethan’s class, his teacher would have been reading several different recounts! I wonder what she thought?!

      • Okay, I’m SOOOO doing that at the next party for the kids! With 3 of the kids birthdays at once it would be fun for ALL of their friends to be able to take part! Thanks! You guys totally rock at the party planning! Should turn this into a business ;)

  11. Looks like they all had a great time, and I love the giant Captain Underpants. I’ve heard of him but never seen the books but I guess I will in due course.

  12. UUMMM yes well, I never thought I would be ENCOURAGING all the toilet talk but it really was an awesome boys party, and I hadn’t laughed like that for a LONG time!! Could tell Ethan was just totally LOVING the whole thing! ( really do miss the pink ballerina thing though!)
    Poopsie Monkey Chunks aka Nana

  13. Oh, that sounds like such a wonderful party. It would be hard to watch all that and not have a smile from ear to ear seeing all the boys’ expressions and the wonderful games you made up for them. Your cake came out fabulous and now I know who Captain Underpants is (which is probably a good thing for me to know with all the nieces and nephews I have). Awesome job, Hannah! Ethan’s a sweet and thoughtful child to have remembered to thank you for his party. :)

  14. OMGoodness that sounds like you all had the BEST fun!!! You know I have the two Mr’s and yes we ALL love Captain Underpants around here – but would never have thought to do a party around him. Perfect!! I have a 9 year old almost who wants a sleepover – wondering if I have it in me to combine it with a CU theme…?!! LOL

    Actually – I was just thinking that it sounds like you had possibly just a good a time as Ethan did! LOL

  15. My nine year old loved the Capt. Underpants books.

    The party looks like it was enjoyed by all. The cake cracked me up!

    Happy Birthday Ethan.

  16. So how’s it going Cheeseball Toilet Buns … hope you kept some of the name tags – E’s birthday party would make an awesome wee mini album … love that cake!!!

  17. Pingback: WWW « Blairs Boys

  18. Pingback: Seriously … « Just a few Bubbles of my Life.

  19. Pingback: 2010 recap « Blairs Boys

  20. Pingback: Search me! « Blairs Boys

Leave a comment ...

