Family matters

Family. That’s where it’s at right now.

On Saturday night, I went on a date with my Dad. We went to see U23D.
It. Was. Awesome. Almost like being at a real live U2 concert. Almost.

Before the movie, we had dinner together. Then we browsed around Borders for an hour or so. Dad quickly found a book he liked the look of, and that was the end of his “browsing”. When it was time to leave, I found him sitting in a chair, reading the same book. He never made it upstairs to the CD/DVD section (his favourite section). If you know my Dad, you’ll be laughing right now because this is SO typical of him!

Anyway, while Dad was engrossed in Mark Ellis’ autobiography, I was having a good time flicking through Scrapbooking mags (the ones from the US or the UK that are too expensive to buy) and stumbling upon these little beauties:

They were on sale. One was $11.99 and the other was $9.99. Each book has over 500 pages. Score!

I’m really keen to try out some of the things in these books. The Stencilling and Stamping one has hundreds of templates in the back, ranging from flowers to flourishes to cars & trucks. My brain is ticking over nicely with ideas of how to use them on my layouts.
The Papercrafts book has over 300 projects using paper, including templates and instructions for making all kinds of gift bags and boxes.

Um, where was I? Oh, right. Family.

It’s my sister’s birthday next Monday. She’s turning 27. The next day, Ethan turns 6. Yep, he was born the day after my sister’s 21st birthday. He was 11 days overdue. Up until 3 days before her party, I had been doing all I could to “flush him out”. But as the day drew closer, I realised he needed to stay put if I wanted to be at her party! There were some mixed emotions that week, I can tell ya!

The day after Ethan’s birthday, my niece Georgia turns 2. Then 2 days after that, my nephew Brock turns 2.

May? Is FULL-ON.

We’re having a small party for Ethan on Sunday. He has invited 5 of his friends from school. The theme is Sponge Bob Square Pants, and I have been requested to make a Sponge Bob cake. The request was submitted shortly after Ethan’s 5th birthday, so there is really no excuse for being unprepared. Next year’s cake request has already been submitted :: Mickey Mouse.

As I am attending an all-day (9-5) seminar on Saturday, my sister’s birthday dinner on Saturday night, and church on Sunday morning, the-turning-a-cake-into-Sponge-Bob will have to be done between the hours of 11.30pm Saturday and 6.30am Sunday. It should only take about 3 hours. Who needs sleep?

Ethan, bless him, has helped me out a LOT by writing a list of the party food he would like to have:

I know you’re all wondering why we eat hedgehogs in our house. Well, we don’t. This is something Ethan saw on TV, and he wants me to make them. They are oranges with faces drawn on them, and toothpicks sticking out of their “backs” with little bits of cheese, salami, tomato, etc on them. Sounds pretty easy, I hope I don’t screw it up.

Oh, and according to Ethan, “the Coke is for the Mummies”. Hmm, perhaps I need to cut down on my Coke Zero consumption …

33 thoughts on “Family matters

  1. U2 3D WAS AWESOME! I saw it a couple months back….seriously AMAZING!

    Good luck getting everything ready for the party…sounds like it’ll be fun! :)

  2. Fantastic writing Ethan!!! He asked me if I knew how to make the hedgehogs too.
    And I so need to look at those books Han.
    We also have the birthday tea here on Monday night don’t forget!!

  3. How cool is that – going on a date with your dad!

    Wow you are going to be one even busier woman over the next week, so much to do, and so much to celebrate. :)

    Love Ethan’s note, so cute, esp. the red sausages and hedgehogs. Hehe, methinks the rocket fuel a.k.a Coke is not for the mummies at all!

  4. Wow May is a very busy month for your family with lots of birthdays coming up. June is our month for birthdays.

    What excellent and very tidy writing Ethan has.

    Those books look great.

  5. You are going to be a busy lady! The date you had with your dad sounds like great fun, that’s neat that the two of you can find things to do together just the two of you.

    And Ethan’s note is so precious! I was wondering about the hedgehogs… I was thinking the chocolate ones Angella has mentioned :-)

    Good luck with the Sponge Bob cake, I know you will do an amazing job! Post pictures!

  6. Oh I remember hedgehogs and no you won’t screw it up – ohhh the list is sooo cute and I love the comment about coke for mummies hee hee – please blog a pic of the cake I am dying to see it, we made moo a F1 racing car for his first birthday – ummm 3 hours – yeah right!!! LOL

    One day I am soooooo going to make it to Borders and then look out eftpos card :)

  7. THAT is too cute about your Dad…
    What a fun thing to do, have a “date” with him!!
    The U2 concert sounds fascinating!
    LOL about the party boy’s requested foods…
    (but YIKES at you having to make the cake at that time!!! Hope it goes well!)

  8. YAY! May is a wondefful month for you then! I LOVE Ethan’s list. He is such a helpful young man. I love the hedgehog idea but now I’m wondering what fairy bread is? Goodness you will be eating some strange sounding stuff. LOL. I’m looking forward to seeing what you make out of those books, and of course, to seeing how your SpongeBob cake comes out. I hope you can get a photo before it is devoured! :)

  9. Hee! Ethan is funny! Happy Birthday to him!

    This week is crazy over here too! Our anniversary, Matthew’s sister’s anniversary and birthday, and his Dad’s birthday. May is BUSY!

    I love Ethan’s list :)

  10. Hannah your date with your dad sounds just plain awesome! Wow what a busy weekend but it is all filled up with things you enjoy and great family time!

    Wow, Ethan’s handwriting is awesome and even better than some adults I know!

  11. Love the sound of those books! Maybe can have a peek one day??? Love the list! Kamryn hasn’t mentioned a party yet so don’t know what will happen there since our house is the size of a matchbox lol. Maybe closer to time she will talk about one??? And I know your cake will turn out fabulous ;)

  12. Good luck with trying to get the cake done in the timeframe available. Who needs sleep?? :lol:
    How awesome he has written out the list for you…. maybe he could do the shopping too ;) Love how the themes are sorted out so far in advance – we are very much the same in this house too. I think it’s meant to be star wars this year……I have no idea what to do for the cake *gulp!* :lol:

  13. Ethan is so organised but as for the cake – who needs sleep. Yeah right? Very interested to see what you do for a Spongebob
    cake! LOL

    We have all our family birthdays around October – funny how it works out like that.

  14. Sounds like a fantastic Daddy date you had. And what a score to find those books alright,
    LOVE Ethan’s list! Such an organiser. And wow what a month May is for you! 27th May is an extra special day ;)

  15. What a great party list, and what a sweet young man, thinking of the Mum’s wanting some coke. WOW Hannah, May is just going to fly by with all those birthdays happening!

  16. Sleep is over-rated buddy … you know that … have fun making your cake and I’m sure Ethan will be absolutely stoked when he gets to see it.

    Can definitely see a layout coming up here … the birthday essentials – lol.

  17. Great list there Ethan. His spelling Hannah is awesome. Those books look great and even better that you got them for such a great price. Enjoy the next week with the celebrating.

  18. Excellent list Ethan! I love the look of that papercrafts book, isnt it just great when you score some good reads at bargain prices?
    Love this family theme – very very good to read :o)

  19. Soooooooo cool you can go on a date with your Dad and do such funstuff!!! Amazing! Good score on the books!
    Some full on times ahead of ya!
    Great list writing from Ethan there, love the hedgehoge idea

  20. “the coke is for the mummies” had me laughing so hard… your kids are so cute and I love hearing about their lists, fun things they say and do – I know I am not alone in blogland with sharing all those fun details.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  21. Wow those books were a great buy!!! What a cool idea having a father/daughter date!
    Ethan’s writing is so cool! What a neat list :) Sounds like he’s going to have a fab party! May is our house is a bit like that too except Miss Krystal’s birthday is the day before my sisters LOL – 17 years apart!

  22. Okay, several things, but first….Happy Birthday big man!!

    You sound about as busy during May as I am at the beginning! Wow!

    Good luck on the Spongebob cake…I can’t wait to see pictures!

    I am in AWE of his writing. Wow! Zachary is 6 as well and can’t spell like that! Although he’s getting better. ;)

  23. That’s so nice about you and your father hanging out. My daughter and her father (the wasband) hang out together a lot. Their big thing is going to concerts and auto racing. My son was born on my Mother’s birthday. He showed up three weeks early just to perform that stunt.

Leave a comment ...

