ANZAC day

180px-remembrancepoppies.jpg

I don’t think it matters that I’m a day late posting this. I didn’t get on the computer at all yesterday … which is not a bad thing!

ANZAC Day (25 April) is observed in New Zealand as a day of commemoration for those who died in the service of their country and to honour returned servicemen and women. ANZAC stands for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps.

I’m so proud to be a Kiwi. I love living in this wonderful country, and I am forever indebted to those brave soldiers who fought to protect our nation.

I am looking forward to a time when Rob and I will be able to take our boys to a dawn service. At the moment I think Tyler is too little. He isn’t always very good at being still and quiet. You’d think that after being in church almost every Sunday of his life he would be better at it, but he’s still a work in progress LOL. I’m hoping that next year we’ll feel confident enough to take them both to a dawn service. I want my boys to grow up knowing what ANZAC day means, and understanding the significance of the day.

A Tribute to ANZAC Day

With their hair a little whiter,
their step not quite so sure
Still they march on proudly
as they did the year before.

Theirs were the hands that saved us,
their courage showed the way
Their lives they laid down for us,
that we may live today.

From Gallipoli’s rugged hillsides,
to the sands of Alamein
On rolling seas and in the skies,
those memories will remain.

Of airmen and the sailors,
of Lone Pine and Suvla Bay
The boys of the Dardenelles
are remembered on this day.

They fought their way through jungles,
their blood soaked desert sands
They still remember comrades
who rest in foreign lands.

They remember the siege of old Tobruk,
the mud of the Kokoda Trail
Some paying the supreme sacrifice
with courage that did not fail.

To the icy land of Korea,
the steamy jungles of Vietnam
And the heroic battle of Kapyong
and that epic victory at Long Tan.

Fathers, sons and brothers,
together they fought and died
That we may live in peace together,
while at home their mothers cried.

When that final bugle calls them
to cross that great divide
Those comrades will be waiting
when they reach the other side.

~ poem by Ken Bunker

LEST WE FORGET.

8 thoughts on “ANZAC day

  1. I like that you said Tyler is a work in progress :-) I like to think we all are. It’s good to be a kiwi. I like that poem as it acknowledges all soldiers in all of the wars.

Leave a comment ...

