Oh, shoot!

In November last year, I did my first ever photoshoot for some family friends. Shortly afterwards, my lovely friend Annelie asked if I would do one for her. She wanted to have some family photos taken while her parents and sister were visiting from Sweden.

The photoshoot took place last Saturday, the day before Annelie’s family left NZ (and the day of her youngest daughter’s 4th birthday). The weather was amazing — too amazing, actually. Sunny, blue skies, not a cloud in sight. Not really ideal photography weather. It was also late morning, so the sun was directly above us. I was concerned about squinting and shadows on faces. Yes, there are some shadows that I wish were not there, but overall I was pretty happy with the results, considering the conditions we had to work with. Annelie & Kelly are happy too, which is all that matters! :-)

Here are a few of my favourites from the day (I have Annelie’s permission to post these) …

IMG_6775-001

IMG_6862

IMG_6794

IMG_6765-001

IMG_6883-001

IMG_6831-002

IMG_6815-002

IMG_6772-001

IMG_6740-001

Later that afternoon, I was invited to my neighbour Sarah’s house for a glass of wine on the patio. My boys were away, hiking to the top of really tall mountains, so I was grateful for some company. There was another reason for my visit, though. Sarah wants me to photograph her wedding. Next month. My initial reaction (after I started breathing again) was “HELL, NO!” but after chatting with her and Marshall, I realised that it would be the perfect opportunity for me. It’s a second wedding for both of them, they are having it in their backyard (i.e. the other side of my back fence!) and they don’t want formal wedding photos. They just want somebody to capture candid moments throughout the day, of themselves, their kids and all their guests. They don’t want somebody telling everyone where to stand, and they don’t want to worry about making sure Great Aunt Mabel is in the family photo with the happy couple. The whole thing is going to be very relaxed and casual. Sarah has always admired my photos, and thought it would be great practice for me, since I am starting to do a few more photoshoots and I have never done a wedding. It will also take the pressure off them, since they don’t like having formal photos taken. Win-win.

I have to be honest and say I am still quite nervous about it. After all, a wedding is a wedding! But Marshall (he who jumped the fence and came to my rescue when I broke my ankle a couple of years ago) is such a chilled out guy, and told me point blank that it wouldn’t matter if all the photos I took were crap. That made me laugh, because although I often doubt myself and although I am my harshest critic, I know I will get at least SOME great photos! ;-)

Wish me luck! Oh, and if any of my super talented photographer friends are reading this, got any tips for me?

13 thoughts on “Oh, shoot!

  1. Yay you! love the photo of Annelie and her sister:) what a fantastic and fun opportunity with the wedding shoot. best of luck my friend:)

  2. Oh how exciting – you will do a wonderful job with the wedding photos Hannah. Love the photos of Annelie and family, but I can’t quite believe that Elsa is now four….gosh it feels like only yesterday when I first ‘met’ her at one of Megan’s retreats!

  3. Lovely pics Hannah. And what an awesome opportunity to take pics at a wedding in a casual way! Fantastic. Probably be the only way you’ll want to photograph a wedding after that hehee ;-) Very exciting for you.

  4. These are stunning photos.
    Very exciting new about photographing the wedding, I think you will be fine and take some beautiful photos for them to remember their special day

  5. Don’t stress over the wedding photos as I know you get some great shots for them and they will just love them too. Fantastic ones of Annelies family. :)

  6. The wedding will be a breeze for you. You have got the right eye and attitude, and it sounds like their day is gonna be so fun and lovely. Just perfect for you. No need to be nervous, but I understand why you are. :)

    I have already told you how happy I am with “my” photos, every single one of them has captured my family so wonderfully. They are worth SO MUCH to me, and I know we will treasure them forever. Thank you for the millionth time, I love them.

  7. That is awesome Hannah. good for you! I got a new camera for Christmas, so am looking forward to having a bit of fun with it while away camping. I don’t have any tips but wondered if you had checked out Radlab. It is a very cool programme you can used in conjunction with photoshop elements to edit photos. It is a little bit pricey, but I think worth the money if you are getting into photography, and you can actually try it out for I think 60 days for free, which might be worth it before the wedding. It has a whole heap of editing “presets” that you can just automatically add to your photo. I really like it. I don’t have it, but used the demo and loved what it did to my photos and would seriously think about it if I got into photography more seriously. You can see it here: http://www.gettotallyrad.com/radlab/ and then click on try it for the demo.

  8. Pingback: Wuv, twue wuv | Blairs Boys

Leave a comment ...

