Valuable

IMG_4805 (1600x1067)

Mum bought me a really beautiful 2013 desktop calendar for Christmas. Each page has an uplifting quote and/or bible verse on it. So far, the readings have been JUST what I needed to hear.

I do find the summer/Christmas holiday season hard when it comes to staying on track with my eating. I usually feel more motivated to exercise than I do in winter, but for me the journey is 90% food and only 10% exercise (and that applies to me both mentally and physically). I think it is important to indulge a little, but knowing when to say “enough is enough” is not always easy for me. During the week after Christmas, I began arguing with myself about whether or not my time of indulgence should be coming to an end. One of my personalities was telling me to start looking after myself properly again, while the other was trying to lure me back to my treat-laden pantry. I began to feel depressed and frustrated. The number on the scales hadn’t gone up (thankfully), but I was not happy with my thought processes or attitude. I hadn’t been valuing myself enough to look after myself.

After reading some of the quotes on my calendar, I realised (again) that I needed to accept myself, because I have been accepted by God. I needed to value myself, because I am valuable to him. And I needed to give myself permission to make some changes in order to bring beauty and healing back into my life.

Before the holiday season, the place I had been over the previous few months was a very good one. Not just because I lost 9kg during that time, although that was a big part of it. Changing my focus meant that I felt better about myself in every possible way. And when I felt better about myself, I found that I was able to focus on the important things. Going to Fiji also played a huge role in getting me to that place, and as time goes by I have to try even harder to remind myself about the lessons I learned while I was over there. I needed and wanted to get back to that place, where I looked at things in a more simplistic way and took more time to be thankful every single day for things I used to take forgranted. And I also needed and wanted to get back to living the healthy lifestyle I had been living. This time around, my weight loss journey began with a spiritual revelation 5 months ago. At that time, I made a commitment to myself and to God. For this reason, I had a different kind of driving force behind my success.

A few days ago, I made a very conscious decision to return to that place. To remember the lessons I learned and the commitment I made. No more arguing with myself, no more putting myself down. And after making that decision, I received even more encouragement as I read the words on my little calendar. So awesome!

IMG_6261 (1600x1067)

* Everywhere we go there are messages about who we are and who we’re supposed to be. And yet in the middle of it all, one voice is quietly calling to our hearts. It’s the voice of the One Who Loves Us. He whispers, “You’re wanted. You matter. You’re wonderfully made.”

* While we strive to make ourselves acceptable, we also secretly long for someone to catch a glimpse of our true selves and exclaim, “You can stop hiding now – I really do love you just as you are!” God does.

* Will there be times when the Lord still reveals areas in our lives that need to change? Yes, of course. But His conviction is about what we do, not about who we are.

* You’re welcomed, held, cherished just as you are and encouraged to grow into all you’ll become.

* Hold your heart and head high; look the world in the eyes and say … “I’m His. I’m loved. I’m already accepted today.”

9 thoughts on “Valuable

  1. “Just as I am, a struggling soul, for life and liberty” – were the words from a hymn on my mind this morning as I cycled to work thinking about facing the day ahead and feeling my need of His strength and grace.

Leave a comment ...

