2012 recap

I did one of these recap posts at the end of 2010 and it was great to reflect back on all the things that happened during the year.
So I’m going to do another one! :-)

Looking back, I can see that I am definitely blogging less now that the boys are getting older. There are a few reasons for that: I am very conscious of not wanting to write anything that would embarrass them, and there is less blog fodder now. Those funny anecdotes and cute sayings are a thing of the past. But there are still so many wonderful moments that I want to remember, and I have tried to write about them during the year.

Here’s what we got up to during 2012:

JANUARY
We had a lot of family fun together, I made a belated resolution to do the dishes every single night (I’m pleased to say that I have managed to keep this up all year. GO ME!) and we had the most perfect summer holiday in Hahei.

FEBRUARY
We celebrated Valentines Day, we played Secret Angels at our church and Tyler finished up his season of tag rugby.

MARCH
I discovered Pinterest, Tyler was rushed to hospital in an ambulance with pneumonia, Ethan cleaned up at his Athletics prizegiving and I celebrated my birthday month.

APRIL
We celebrated Easter, I ran the Orewa Beach 5K and Tyler invited Jesus into his heart.

MAY
Rob & I celebrated our 13th wedding anniversary, I had the most fantastic Mothers Day, Rob took me on a surprise getaway and Ethan turned TEN.

JUNE
Rob’s beloved Gran passed away at the age of 100, we had lots of fun at Adventure Forest, I accidentally grew a pumpkin in my compost bin and Teeni & I ressurected the Live Poet’s Society after a several year hiatus.

JULY
I formally introduced my nieces and nephews, Rob & I each spent some special one-on-one time with our boys, and Ethan had “The Talk”.

AUGUST
I received a wonderful self-care package in the mail, the boys had their school cross-country and I began a new weight loss journey.

SEPTEMBER
We had a fabulous Fathers Day, Tyler won player of the year at the soccer prizegiving and turned EIGHT a week later.

OCTOBER
We had a family holiday in Taupo, Annelie chose me as her guest designer for her new kit club, and Rob & I went on a 2-week mission trip to Fiji with a group from our church.

NOVEMBER
I went to the Coldplay concert with my sister, I did my first ever photo shoot for my friends Heather & Sandy and I celebrated a 9kg weight loss.

DECEMBER
Ethan went on his Year 6 school camp, Tyler performed in his dance school’s end of year concert, Ethan graduated from primary school and we had the best Christmas ever!

I am looking forward to what 2013 will bring our way. There will be ups and downs I am sure, but I am looking forward to ALL of it. Happy New Year! May your 2013 be filled with love, joy and peace, whatever the circumstances.

3 thoughts on “2012 recap

  1. YAh to so many great memories!!!

    I’m excited to be part of April’s event (that i KNOW will feature in 2013’s re-cap!!!)
    not long now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment ...

