Skater Dude

Tyler is shaping up to be a lot like his Daddy. There are the blatantly obvious things like the ginger hair, but as he gets older I’m starting to notice quite a few similarities in other areas as well.

Tyler had his training wheels taken off his bike at the same time Ethan did. He was only 4 at the time, but he didn’t want to be “left behind”. We took them off and he was away laughing. It seemed bike riding came pretty naturally to him.

Last year, we got Tyler a scooter. After riding it to and from school and during lunchtime for about 3 or 4 days, he had it down pat. Mad skills! He does jumps and wheelies and goes REALLY fast down ramps and hills. If he falls off (which he sometimes does), he just takes himself off to the sick bay at school, gets patched up, and then carries on.

This year, he hasn’t been riding his scooter to school every day. Partly because his new classroom is not near the “wheels” court, but also because he has a NEW love.

The Skateboard.

He is BEGGING for one. We haven’t relented just yet, as he’s only had the scooter for a few months, but we will probably get him one soon.

While we were on holiday at Hahei, Tyler had a go on Rob’s skateboard. It’s a long board, so it’s for road riding, not for doing tricks or riding on skateboard ramps. Not surprisingly, Tyler was a complete natural. We were all impressed with how quickly he learned how to turn the skateboard, and how good his balance was. No wobbling at all! And no fear of going fast.

DSCN5786

DSCN5785

My husband often goes out skateboarding with his mates, and I am sure it is only a matter of time before at least one of my boys accompanies them.
Considering Rob has come home from a night of skating covered in blood (only once, but still), I am sure there will be carnage on a regular basis once Tyler joins in the fun. Thankfully he is a pretty tough little guy and doesn’t let a fall or two stop him. Of course we are very safety conscious and insist on helmets at all times. But boys will be boys, so I guess I should brace myself for plenty of skinned knees and elbows, and possibly some broken bones. I could take out shares in the local A&E, perhaps? ;-)

This is obviously Tyler’s “thing”. He’s not a super fast runner like his brother, so it’s great that he has found a sporting area to excel in. I wonder what’s next for my little dude? Snowboarding? Surfing? Wakeboarding? I’m sure he will try them all! Rob has a love of all things extreme, an adventurous spirit and a sickening uncanny ability to excel in every sport he tries. So if Tyler continues to take after his Daddy, I don’t think there is much chance of slowing him down!

14 thoughts on “Skater Dude

  1. We really need to get our boys together for a play date. Rileys thing at the moment is skateboarding. He got one for christmas and loves its. He leaves it in the car every day at the moment so that he can play at the bottom court with the big kids after school each day. He is still learning but loves to be involved and is getting more confident, and doesn’t really care if he gets a few bumps and scrapes in the mean time!! I know our youngest would get on really well!!

  2. uh oh… I’m dreading this phase with Joshie, he has trouble staying upright on his feet never mind on wheels!! he’s mastered his scooter though and has a big bike (with training wheels) but he’s sooo bad when he gets hurt, he won’t even let me look! boys huh? LOL

  3. Tyler sounds like Aaron all over again. He has a natural ability for all things “wheels” too. LOL. He has spent hours practicing on his skateboard learning to do things I don’t want to know about! LOL. Has had a go at surfing but eyeing up a snowboard especially after watching the winter olympics. We have had only trip to the After Hours with a head injury so count ourselves lucky. Andrew now wants a long board like Aarons. LOL.

  4. I find it rather depressing actually that little people can just get on things like skateboards and go for it!! ;-) Not something I could do!
    Tyler looks super cute actually on those pics – looks like he’s concentrating very hard :-)

  5. Oh my goodness, you are a brave, brave woman Hannah.
    Although, I guess if he’s a natural, he should be fine. Hopefully. *Cringes*

  6. Very cool, but this makes me sort of releaved that I have girls! :) Of course girls can do what boys can, but there is probably a smaller chance with my two… *crosses fingers* Sure, I’ll be worried about other things with my monkeys, but maybe not so much about blood. Or… I don’t know. Kids. Couldn’t live without them, but man they can get us worried! *shaking head* I think I need to lie down now…

  7. With such good balance it’s no wonder he’s doing so well in terms of the academic side of school. Now lets hope he takes up surfing, (when he hits that point) only cos I figure it’s got to be less costly than snowboarding LOL.

  8. He looks like he’s got it down pat! That must be so fun to watch them both excel at sports :) And yes, I think you better brace yourself because boys will be boys1

  9. whoooo hooo skater boy…..great that he has the opportunity to try these new things, I ahhhhed when I read he had a hip hop lesson. I could see him being very natural at that too.

  10. Pingback: 2010 recap « Blairs Boys

Leave a comment ...

