Hello, 2009!

The first day of 2009 has dawned, and it’s a beautiful one. The sun is shining, the sky is blue, the birds are singing. After 3 days of work (while everybody else has been on holiday!), I am looking forward to just relaxing today, and spending time with my family.
On my agenda today? Swimming at the beach, playing games, reading my (unputdownable) book, and enjoying fresh summer food.

I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions, but I’ve come up with a few things I would like to achieve this year:

1. Keep off the 12kg (26lb) I lost last year.
I know everybody always says they want to lose weight/eat healthily/get fit … but the funny thing is, losing weight wasn’t even one of my “resolutions” for 2008 (like I said, I don’t usually make them). In fact, I spent the first 5 months of last year ignoring the problem. Eventually, I had one of those “aha!” moments, and decided to do something about it.
So as much of a cliche as this may sound, I really do want to keep focused on healthy eating and exercise. I’ve worked damn hard to get to where I am now, and I am NOT going back!

2. Spend more one-on-one time with each of my boys, doing specific things that they enjoy.
Up until now, Tyler has pretty much copied everything Ethan has been into. But now he’s getting to the age where he is discovering his own interests, and I want to spend more quality time with him, nurturing those.
And the same with Ethan.
I want to go on more Mummy/Son dates, stuff like that.

3. Finish painting the house!! OK, so that’s mostly Rob’s job … but I really want it done!
We’ve had some issues that have made this job take much longer than we anticipated. The weatherboards on the lower (original) level of our house are about 40 years old, and have about 6 layers of paint on them. After painting one wall twice, and having the paint bubble both times, we sought the advice of a professional (ex-chemist). He scraped off some paint samples, and discovered a layer of mould on one of them. This means we have to strip ALL the paint off, then prime and undercoat, before painting. A HUGE job!

4. Work hard, but learn how to leave work at work.
Believe me, this can be pretty tricky when you work from home! Most of the time I keep a pretty good balance between work and my personal life, but it’s something I always need to be aware of.

The next one isn’t on my list, but it goes without saying, really:

Have a GREAT year! :-)
I’m sure 2009 will bring both ups and downs, like every other year. But I am looking forward to it.

Happy New Year!

20 thoughts on “Hello, 2009!

  1. Sounds like a great list to me!
    I know what you mean about the weight thing, I lost it once but it found me again lol the hardest part is keeping it off!
    Wishing you a fantastic 2009!

  2. Well GOOD MORNING!
    It’s still 2008 here in Kamloops BC Canada. I just put on my makeup to go out and party hardy with my man.

  3. great list…. with you on the healthy eating… and glad you see that this time with your boys is so precious…. great stuff
    happy new year

  4. Sounds like a great set of goals / resolutions you have there.

    Don’t you just love it when the first day of the year is just glorious? Makes me feel as if the whole year will go well when we get a good start ;) We’re just in from the beach at scorching bay – the rest of the year could slip by just like that :)

  5. Great resolutions Hannah. I just know that you will keep those 12kg off as you have now made that a lifestyle choice!! I hope you enjoyed the beach… it was certainly a scorcher here in Albany.

  6. Dearest Hannah – happy 2009! Good luck with your resolutions, I’m sure you’re gonna do great! Looking forward to seeing you more this year!

    Love
    //Annelie

  7. Hi Hannah, Happy New Year to you and your family. Some great resolutions there; I haven’t made any this year. I lost about 14kg this year, and unfortunately, put most of it back on, so I think the resolution about keeping yours off is a great one!

  8. Awesome list Hannah
    Happy New Year
    Some of us in our scrap group started bout a month before christmas to lose some weight (weigh in each Tuesday scrapping night) I was going not too bad but managed to blow it all this last week – lol
    but I will start again

  9. Happy New Year to you, Hannah! I hope it’s a great year for your whole family. Your plans sound wonderful. What book are you reading? Your resolutions sound like good ones to me. It is important to honor the differences amongst our kids.

  10. The house painting sounds like a big job but I hope it actually turns into a nice family project that is something you all can take a hand in and see the results of your efforts. Sometimes home projects like that are actually enjoyable as a shared experience. I wish you a wonderful new year and hope you achieve all that your heart desires, my friend. :) Hugs to you!

  11. Happy New Year to you and Rob and the boys. You have to love indoor picnics and pretending yoru at the beach sounded like fun while having yoru traditional fish and chips. What a wonderful and relaxing christmas Day you had. What book are you reading? I finally finished Wally Lambs book “the hour I first believed”.

    Love your goals/resolutions for 2009. Love the layout you did for scrap the boys, love the fresh look.

Leave a comment ...

