The Blog Friendship Box

My wonderful friend Teeni at The Vaguetarian Tea Room came up with the idea of a Blog Friendship Box. You can read her post here.

DSCN4637

And guess what? She chose me (ME!) as the first recipient. Wow.

So how does it all work? As Teeni says, “The Blog Friendship Box is a cross between a meme and a Pay It Forward kind of thing”.
As with all memes, there are some rules to follow if you receive The Blog Friendship Box:

RULES
1. You have 3 weeks from when you receive The Blog Friendship Box to pass it on to one other blog buddy. You can choose a blog buddy by having a contest on your blog, or by just picking someone.
2. Before you pass on The Blog Friendship Box, you must alter it in some creative way – like painting, adding a ribbon or button or sequins, but only ONE application can be applied at one time by any blogger. So you can’t paint it AND add buttons, etc.
3. Before you pass on The Blog Friendship Box, you must place a small gift inside. This may be a joke gift, a handmade item, a nonperishable good, a poem of your own, etc.
4. Before you pass on The Blog Friendship Box, you must take a photo of it (if you have a camera). Then you must post the photo on your blog so everyone can see the way it changes in appearance. You must also include the links of all the past blogs that the box has visited.
5. The Blog Friendship Box MAY be sent to the same person more than once. However, it cannot go back and forth between the same people. So, there must be at least a total of 5 different people on the list of links before sending it to someone who has already had it.

I decided to alter the box by adding some (very patriotic-looking) ribbon! I wonder if all the coverage of the US election on TV this afternoon made me gravitate towards this red, white & blue specimen? ;-)
I must admit it was very difficult for me to stop at ONE application, because I feel like it doesn’t look “creative” enough. However, a rule is a rule, and I’m a stickler for them! Here’s what the box looks like now:

DSCN4645

I have decided to send the box to Hay at Where Karma Meets Camera. She is such a sweet person, and deserves to receive some love-in-a-box. Hay was kind enough to recently gift 30 of her original photographs to her blog readers, in honour of her 30th birthday. I received a gorgeous print called “How Deep Is Your Love?” which I am going to frame and hang in my bedroom. Just one example of how sweet this girl is!

So Hay, keep an eye on your mailbox – I will be posting it tomorrow! And here is a list of links that you can copy and paste to your blog when the box is ready for its next destination:

Teeni at The Vaguetarian Tea Room
Hannah at Blairs Boys
Hay at Where Karma Meets Camera

~~~~~

I can’t finish this post without telling/showing you the lovely gifts Teeni placed inside the box for me:

DSCN4636

The lovely sentiment card reads: “Do not wish to be anything but what you are, and to be that perfectly.” -St. Francis De Sales.

The Instant Weight Loss box really made me giggle. Here’s what it says on the back:

Become a size 2 instantly with our elastic tape measure, special stick-on clothing labels, and scale sticker. Enjoy guilt-free eating with our “Zero-calorie” nutrition labels. With Instant Weight Loss, you’ll be skinny in seconds!

DSCN4640

DSCN4641

DSCN4643

Absolutely brilliant. And a heck of a lot easier than doing Weight Watchers! ;-)

Separate to the Friendship Box, Teeni was kind enough to send me these very cute salt & pepper grinders:

DSCN4638

I saw these on Teeni’s blog a little while ago, and thought they were very clever. They have magnets on the back, so you can keep them on the fridge. I’ve decided to keep mine on the oven (also magnetic), where they will be nice & handy to use during cooking. You just squeeze the handles together to grind them.

Thanks, Teeni!

26 thoughts on “The Blog Friendship Box

  1. I had a feeling you would send it along to Hay and I couldn’t be happier with your choice! That’s why I felt totally comfortable choosing you as the first – you are so thoughtful and I loved Hay’ photo gifts as well. She is a definite keeper. By the way, I think you showed remarkable restraint with stopping at the ribbon but you did great – I do think you were influenced by all the U.S. politics going on recently! :) I hope the weight loss thing gave you a smile. There will always be days we feel not good enough or small enough or thin or pretty enough, so on those days, just take out that funny tape measure and remember the priorities in life. And smile. Love to you, my friend. :) :) :) I will link to this post from my sidebar and mention it in a post in the next day or two so everyone can see what you did! :)

  2. oooooooo *squeal*!! Thank you! I was so hoping I would get a turn! Brilliant, now to put my thinking cap on about decorating it! And sending it on….on my! Hugs :)

  3. Teeni’s the best. Congrats on being the first stop and I’m looking forward to seeing the travels. I love that Because-Of-You card – it’s fun to find out what it says inside.

  4. LOL, the instant weight loss thingy :)

    Size 2! LOL, would that be the size of one of my under fives. Didn’t know such a size existed except in kids’ clothes.

  5. This is great fun, I think you did an amazing job!!! Great idea with the ribbon! I love the prezzies she sent you, she’s a sweet heart and also has a wicked sense of humor. I cannot wait to follow this box around and see what it transforms into. Can you imagine all the bobbles it’ll have after like, say, 10 people have added some bling to it? Ha! Ha! GOOD JOB!!!!

  6. Teeni comes up with the best ideas and you have dome well with the ribbon you added. I love the little gifts that she sent you. She sent me the weight loss kit a while back. It works great. I now wear size 2 jeans. Who would have thought?

  7. Pingback: Blog Friendship Cup Drawing « Aunty's Tea Room

Leave a comment ...

