Live Poet’s Society

I have mentioned before that I love to write. And before you say “don’t give up your day job”, I should remind you that writing actually IS my day job. And also one of my hobbies.

My friend Teeni over at the Vaguetarian Tea Room recently completed an assignment. But not just any assignment. It was set by one of her readers, WriterChick, who asked Teeni to rewrite a scene from Alice Through the Looking Glass, but to put herself in the role of the star. She did a stellar job, blowing us away with her hidden poetry skills. You can read it here.

I thought the whole “handing out assignments” idea was F.U.N. so Teeni and I decided that we would collaborate on something together (*rubs hands together with an evil laugh*). We decided to set each other an assignment, with a flexible 1-month deadline. Not only that … we decided to open the assignment up to any of our readers who want to have a go!

So … here is my assignment for Teeni (and anyone else who wants to take part):

Write a short story or essay using the first-person narrative. You can have as many characters as you like, but you must include yourself and a well-known character from a TV show or movie (in the role he/she is famous for). And at some point in the story, one of your characters must recite a Spenserian sonnet about something or someone they love.

Easy, huh?

Now, ask yourself the following questions:
*Is there a writer inside you, struggling to get out?
*Are you the owner of a hidden literary talent that needs to be shared?
* Do you have an urge to write and express your innermost thoughts and feelings, but don’t know where to start?
Yes? Well, here is your opportunity!

If you’d like to tackle this assignment (or the one Teeni has set for me on her blog), post your finished masterpiece on your blog and link back to this post (or hers). Oh, and feel free to display this badge on your blog when you’re all done:

I know, I know. There is a reason why I’m not a graphic designer. But seriously, wouldn’t it look good in your sidebar? Yes, I think it would.

So? What are you all waiting for? Get writing! You have a whole month (give or take), so I won’t accept “I’m too busy” as an excuse. You all know how busy I am, but I’m still taking part! Writing can be very relaxing and therapeutic, and it can be done anywhere. Carry a little notebook with you and if you get an idea, jot it down. Inspiration can strike in the most unusual places, so it pays to be prepared! ;-)

Last night I stumbled upon this great website. I thought I’d share the link for anyone who wants to give this assignment a go, but hasn’t done much writing before. The website features various generators that will provide you with as much, or as little, help as you need. There are plenty of good story ideas – from first lines and titles, to fully outlined characters and scenarios. There’s also a random generator which will give you 3 words to try and spark your imagination into life.
Check it out.

And why not pay a visit to the Vaguetarian Tea Room and see the assignment Teeni has set for me. Remember, if you are keen to play along, you can choose either (or both, if you’re really keen!) of these assignments.

Finally, HAVE FUN! I’m going to. :-)

20 thoughts on “Live Poet’s Society

  1. Good luck with that writing eh!! Sounds like a cool thing to do. (Not for me though – no writer struggling to get out here lol)

    You never know, Ruth. Perhaps there IS a writer struggling to get out, and you just can’t hear her?! ;-)

  2. I will, I will! Got my thinking cap on and thanks for that inspiration link for writers. Looks like a great site.

    Yay! I’m excited to see what you come up with, Diane!

  3. You guys are so creative!

    I’m going to use the “I’m too busy” cop-out. This time.

    NaBloPoMo and work has me all wrapped up.

    But I look forward to what you will reveal :)

    Hang on, didn’t I say you COULDN’T use that excuse?! LOL. But you are already writing lots with NaBloPoMo, so I’ll let you off the hook. THIS time.

  4. Wow – this is going to be fun! I actually have to look up some Spenserian sonnets though (you gave me research homework on top of the writing project!). LOL. Good thing I have a month though – I am going to need to let my brain ramble around a little bit.

    I hope it’s not too “obscure” for you! I’m sure if you look up Spenserian sonnets on Wikipedia it will explain it all to you. I’m also very glad I have a month to do it!

  5. Oh I would love to give this a go but I am truly not a writer! I could give it to hubby though, he is a wonderfully talented writer. I write my blog and often wish I was better but I write it how it is, mistakes and all. I am deffinattely leaving this to the talented writers.

    You should give it a try, Yvette! Perhaps you and your hubby could work on something together? That would be great!

  6. Double yikes! I read Teeni’s assignment to you and now this one? You gals are tough …

    Hi Red, thanks for the comment! Obviously Teeni and I are suckers for punishment. I guess neither of us wanted to make the assignment too easy … but hopefully they won’t be too hard either!

  7. All I can say is hmmmm…

    I have a number of story plots in my head but haven’t yet let them see the light of day mainly because I need some space to do it undistracted by kids and housework – but I can’t use that excuse. Dang!

    Will..er..think on it some.

    I hope you’ll write something, Penny. I know what you mean though, I would love to go away for a month to some quite reclusive place to write without interruption …

  8. Pingback: Something Wicked Cool Is Here! « vaguetarian tea room

  9. What an awesome idea Hannah! I can’t wait to read yours :)

    I don’t do creative writing…I seriously suck at it.

    Thanks! Hey, I know Chuck is a very good writer … tell him to have a go if he feels inclined!

  10. Looking forward to reading your piece Hannah :) I’m sure it makes for some fun reading! But as for me, right now there is no little voice trying to get heard 0.o

    Not even a German voice?? LOL :-)

  11. Can’t wait to read yours! I don’t think I have it in me right now, too much going on with work etc.
    :-)

    Oooh, I don’t know about that excuse, Kami! Just kidding, perhaps you’ll be able to join in next time?!

  12. Great site :)

    I might have to take you up on this challenge, maybe after Christmas though. Too many book signings and schools visits to attend.

    oh btw, there is a random drawing going on at my blog.

    Jillian

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Jillian! A real live author wanting to take part – this is great! I hope you will join in.

  13. I love that you are so passionate about writing Hannah! No little voice struggling to get out here but I can’t wait to read what you and others come up with :)

    Thanks Tracy … I am feeling the pressure now! LOL

  14. I’ll try and join Teeni in doing this one, first I’ll have to look up Spenserian Sonnets (there you have it, a thick european LOL) I won’t be putting up the badge just yet, first gotta see if I can do this.

    Hi Brigitta, thanks for visiting my blog! I hope you will join in!

  15. Pingback: I (heart) bullet points « Blairs Boys

  16. Pingback: Last Meme and Three Things I Can’t Let Go « vaguetarian tea room

  17. Pingback: The Variety Show « Blairs Boys

  18. Pingback: It’s writing time « Blairs Boys

  19. Pingback: Pardon me, a parody? « Blairs Boys

  20. Pingback: Sleeping Poet’s Society? « Blairs Boys

Leave a comment ...

