Facebook

I really like Facebook.

Since joining a few months ago, I’ve made contact with heaps of long-lost friends. Many of them are old school friends who I hadn’t seen or heard from in 10 or 15 years.

And I had lunch with one of those friends today!
How awesome is that?
We hadn’t seen each other since we finished high school (over 10 years) but he found me on Facebook. And instead of writing endless messages on each other’s walls, we decided to meet in person to catch up. And it was so much fun!

We met at his art gallery in town. Yep, he owns an art gallery. Then we had coffee (well, I had hot chocolate … I don’t drink “devil water”) at two separate cafes, followed by lunch at an Italian restaurant. We just ate, drank and talked non-stop! We had so much to catch up on, and also had a blast reminiscing about our school days. Ah, great memories. I laughed so much that I cried!

We’ve both changed a fair bit in 10 years, and our worlds are poles apart: he is a gay art gallery owner, living in the central city; I am a work-at-home wife and mum, living in the ‘burbs. But we still get along famously.

We will continue to keep in touch from now on. And we have Facebook to thank for our beautiful reunion.

Thanks, Facebook.

21 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. I totally agree Hannah, it’s so cool to find “old friends” on there. I probably won’t have a chance to catch up in person, as most of my oldies are still in Sweden, but it’s a great place to keep in contact at!

  2. Well, you’re lucky, I’ve been searching, and I haven’t really found anyone, except you, of course, and that’s extra special, LOL, but no one from my era at school. Nice that you could catch up, and in a way, just pick up where you left off!

  3. Hmm – that reminds me – I haven’t logged in for ages. I have to say that Facebook leaves me a little cold but I am not very good at networking in real life, let alone on the puter :)

  4. I’m so glad that that worked out well for you. It sounds like you are the type of friends who could just have time pass and still be able to catch up and get along famously. That is wonderful and it is so neat that you are both so different – it will always be an interesting and fun time when you two catch up! Keep us posted and next time you talk to him pass on our well wishes for his art gallery!!!!

  5. It sounds like a fantastic time Hannah! I haven’t used facebook at all but I’ve caught up with a few people via ‘old friends’ and it’s always exciting :)

  6. Sounds like you had a brilliant day with your long lost friend.
    Im a bit stumped as to how you search for people on Facebook – do you need their email or how does it work? So far I only have a couple of friends on there so tend not to have it running that much

  7. I’m on Facebook and Myspace too…but none of my friends from HS are really on it. Well, there are a couple but they don’t seem to active with it.

    Oh, and then there’s the rest of the masses that I wasn’t friends with :)

Leave a comment ...

