Missing my man …

Rob has gone snowboarding for a few days, and I miss him!!

We really haven’t spent that much time apart since we got married, so I really miss him when he’s not here. I know some couples need/want plenty of time apart, but we are not one of those couples! We simply enjoy spending our time together.

As much as I really enjoy “me” time, girls-only shopping sprees and girly nights out every now and then, I would still choose my husband as the person I would prefer to hang out with on a Saturday night.

I’m excited that he is coming home tonight. It will be late when he gets home, but I will wait up for him. I don’t sleep very well when I’m on my own. When I went to Canada for 12 days last year, I slept terribly. Despite having a HUGE comfortable King-sized bed, beautiful linen, soft pillows, blackout curtains and air-con in my flashy hotel room, I found it hard to sleep. A small part of it was probably jet-lag – not feeling tired at night because my body clock was out of whack. But mostly, I was just missing my man!

Sorry if this sounds ridiculous to those of you whose partners are often away on business for extended periods. I’m sure it seems a bit OTT for me to be missing Rob so much after such a short time apart. I’m just thankful that I don’t have to do this very often … I really doubt I could handle it!

27 thoughts on “Missing my man …

  1. I am the same way, Hannah. I sleep terribly when Hugh isn’t around. I’m not sure how my long time away from him will go but it’s just good I will have the girls with me. So tonight you’ll be able to sleep just fine ;)

  2. I think it is nice that you miss him. I don’t really miss my beloved when I am away (which used to be reasonably often back when I was employed) but I do when he goes (which is hardly ever). I think it is because I expect to see him at home whereas I don’t when I am out of the home environment. Best of both worlds is when we go away together :)

  3. I’m in the other camp – I enjoy a little bit of time to myself here and there. It comes so infrequently that I make sure I do enjoy it.
    But I think it’s neat that you enjoy Rob’s company as much as you do – it’s always nice to hear about couples that really do enjoy each other’s company. :)

  4. Snap! I feel exactly the same about my hubby. He is planning a fishing trip at the moment and is very excited – I on the other hand are dreading it.
    I even count down the hours til he’s home….do you do that too! LOL
    Sharon
    xxx

  5. Awww. That is so sweet. Absence makes the heart grow fonder as they say, right? I can borrow a hot little nightie from my sister if you think you’d like to use it tonight Hannah! LOL

  6. I think it VERY sweet that you miss him; I feel the same way when H and I are apart!
    I don’t think the couples who HAVE to spend time apart are admirable, as why did they choose each other if they didn’t want to be together!
    ;D

  7. My hubby and I are the same way. We need to be together. Thankfully he NEVER has to go away and I only have to a couple times a year.

    Enjoy the homecoming:-)

  8. I totally understand Hannah. After 14 years of being together I now don’t dread the times he goes away, that is until bed time! I always stay up way later and my sleep is so broken, by the time he gets home I am so exhausted. And boy is it nice to have him next to me again! Enjoy having him back!

  9. I would feel exactly the same way if Craig decided to go away. Lucky his interests and work don’t need him too. We too are joined at the hip as a couple :) hehe

  10. have to say I can totally understand. Hence why I flew up to Hamilton rather than add four extra days onto my trip. ( I could have gotten a ride but it was going to take two days each side tacked onto a week). Loved that you are going to stay up for him.

  11. Know exactly where you are coming from Hannah – we’ve been a couple for ever [well it seems like that sometimes - said in the nicest possible way] … I still hate the being by myself at night when it happens …

    Good on you for waiting up tonight.

  12. I’m like you Hannah, although Rainer is away a bit more often than your man I still dont like it one bit. Nor does he. Hehe and I stay up until the middle of the night , if that’s when he gets home and then my world just feels complete again. Hope you had a wonderful ‘reunion’ :)

  13. Leo is away at night often because thats when he is allowed to switch telecoms cells off – and I cant sleep! My bed seems huge and cold, I let the kids sleep with me! We have done the ‘time apart’ stuff like I wouldn’t go hunting with Leo anymore than he would come to SENZ – lol – but we do everything else together and we love it! When I went to Sydney last year it was felt wrong being there without him.
    I hope Rob enjoyed the snow though!!

  14. Honestly, when I have the bed to myself, I sleep so well. I’m not gonna lie. But I feel the same way. At least for me when the wife is away my immediate thought is, “This is gonna be great!” And then half a day later I wish I could just go to wherever she was. *nod*

  15. I’m exactly the same. My hubby has only been away from me once – 4 days on a course. I should have slept better than usual because he is a snorer, but I didn’t because I missed him.

Leave a comment ...

