The Interview

Angella has asked me Five Questions. They’re good ones, too. I will take the time now to explain that this is a game, of sorts. So if you would like to play, follow these instructions:

1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you 5 questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.
Sound good?

Okay, so here are my answers to Angella’s questions:

1. Assuming calories don’t count, what is your favourite – a salty or sweet treat?

This one is easy: SWEET.

I definitely have a sweet tooth. I love chocolate. I don’t care much for lollies, unless they are chocolate coated or have a chocolate centre. I’m not a huge fan of cookies or biscuits, unless they have chocolate in or on them. I would gladly skip dessert, unless it was some kind of chocolately concoction.

I inherited this love of chocolate from my mother. She has a fridge magnet which says “I’d give up chocolate, but I’m no quitter.” Amen to that!

2. If you could live anywhere in the world (other than where you are), where would it be?

I have to say that I would not want to live anywhere else. We live in one of the most beautiful places EVER. I dare you to look at these photos and tell me I’m wrong.



That’s right, I’m not.

But anyway, I will be a good girl and answer the question.
I think I would like to live in Italy. I know Rob would too. And to be honest, if I had to choose somewhere else to live, I’d kind of want the love of my life to be with me. Selfish, I know.

3. What do you do when nobody’s looking?

Sometimes I dance.
I’m not very good, which is why I don’t do it when people are looking. Except my kids, I will dance in front of them. In a few years they’re going to think I’m embarrassing, so what does it matter if they make the observation a little early?
Besides, how can anybody look good dancing to Crazy Frog?

Sometimes I pick my nose.

Sometimes I sneak chocolate.

Sometimes I colour in my kids’ colouring books.
This is not the same as colouring with my kids. This is doing it properly. This is being able to finish a page without somebody else “helping” or insisting that I use a green crayon for the zebra’s teeth. This is not going over the lines. Because when I colour with my kids, I have to go over the lines just a little bit otherwise they’d feel bad about how much better I am at it than them.

4. If you could go back in time, would you change anything you’ve done?

I really don’t think so. Not because I haven’t made mistakes or done stupid things, but because I firmly believe that all things happen for a reason. I have learned so much from those mistakes and I’m not sure I’d be a very good person today if I hadn’t had those opportunities to learn.
I’ve had some hard times in my life, too. But I wouldn’t try and change those either, because they have enabled me to grow. I am stronger because of those trials.

And to be honest, my life is pretty good. I’m more than happy with it! I have a God who loves me, a wonderful family, great friends, the best husband in the world, two gorgeous boys. I have a fantastic job, a nice house, a whole lot of precious memories. There is nothing in that list that I’d want to change.

5. Coke or Pepsi, diet or all sugar?

Through my life, I have pretty much run the gamut of cola choices and preferences.
Growing up, I always liked Coke (but we hardly ever had it. It was a treat in our house). When I was a teenager, Pespi became cool. All my friends switched, and I followed. Eventually I returned to my first love, Coke.

In my early twenties, I gained weight for the first time in my life and went to Weight Watchers to lose it. I realised that a glass of Coke was 2.5 points and that a glass of Diet Coke was 0 points. I decided to make the switch to Diet Coke. I actually didn’t like it, but I drank it anyway. Because I wanted needed the caffeine. One day I tried Diet Pespi, and realised I liked it better than Diet Coke. Even though I had previously liked Coke more than Pepsi. Weird.

Then one day, something amazing happened. Coke Zero was invented. And I can honestly say that I prefer it to Coke. I find Coke too sweet for me now, and wouldn’t ever choose it over the sugar-free version. Coke Zero is a guilt-free indulgence that a) helps me limit my calorie intake; b) satisfies my sweet tooth; and c) keeps my caffeine levels stable. Perfect.

16 thoughts on “The Interview

  1. We were meant to be friends, Hannah. Holy Type A, Batman! And I could have written the whole paragraph on Coke vs. Pepsi, except I like DC over Coke Zero :)

    And yes, you live in a sweet place :)

  2. “interview me”

    Laughed at the colouring cos thats what I like to do and I have no children. Ewww at Pepsi, I was never a great fan of it and I was a Diet Coke person until Coke Zero.

  3. LOL, sometimes I pick my nose too Hannah!!! But don’t tell anyone :o)

    And I LOVE Coke Zero!! I was so a coke girl, but then when I was trying to lose weight I went cold turkey, then started drinking Diet Coke, but didn’t really like it, so it was a GREAT day they day they brought out Coke Zero. I can’t drink normal coke now!!! Interview Me! :o)

  4. What a fun post! (Interview me, I’ll do it when I can)
    Pick your nose! ROFLOL Who doesn’t? I’ve yet to meet one person who doesn’t pick their nose. You sound quite normal to me Hannah.

  5. You certainly do live in a georgous spot Hannah! :)
    Love the answers to your interview qustions and the explanations for each answer :0 not game enough myself :0

  6. You live in such a beautiful location I think we would all respond that if we could live anywhere else it would be with Hannah.
    Interview Me. I need something to do. I’m bored, lol.

  7. I enjoyed reading your answers Hannah. If I HAD to live anywhere else, I’d also pick Italy (felt that way after I saw the movie “Room with a view”). Plus I know i could eat the food – italian food is yum!

  8. Love the pics, can I come live with you? you can come live here where it is cold and windy most of the year. LOL
    I too found myself coloring with out the kids a few nights ago. I’m sure I’ve gone off the deep end.

  9. Yes, I reckon we live in one of the nicest parts of NZ. I’m almost scared to move! I have my own coloring book and crayons stuck away in the closet lol. I love coloring. I like Coke Zero too. Much better than Diet Coke. But I also like Pepsi too.

  10. Pingback: Questionable « Blairs Boys

Leave a comment ...

