ABC muffins

My boys love these muffins, and they are great for me to make since I don’t like banana and therefore I’m not tempted to eat them! ;-) I’m fairly certain this is a Simon Holst recipe.

2-3 ripe bananas
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup canola oil
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1 Granny Smith or Braeburn apple, grated
2 cups self-raising flour

Preheat oven to 210C.
Mash bananas. In a bowl, mix together bananas, sugar, salt, oil, egg and milk. Stir in chocolate chips and apple. Stir flour in its container, then spoon into cup without packing it or banging it down. Sprinkle over top of other ingredients then fold in gently without overmixing.
Spoon into greased muffin trays. Bake for 10-12 min until tops spring back when lightly pressed. Leave to stand for 2-3 min then remove.

Makes 12 regular muffins or 24 mini muffins (my boys love the mini ones!)
Suitable to freeze.

10 thoughts on “ABC muffins

  1. Copied and printed – my kids love ‘Hannah’s lasagna’ – so I’m sure these will be a hit!
    Thanks for sharing Hannah!

  2. Sound yummy Hannah – would be even better with a cook doing their thing in my kitchen and whipping up a batch of them – dreaming here – lol!

  3. What’s the ABC? Apples, Bananas, Canola??? or C for Chocolate perhaps. Sounds yummy. And I do love recipes with fruit in them. I consider them *extra-healthy* :wink:

  4. These sound good, Hannah. I might have to give them a go as well. I must look into getting a mini muffin pan as they would be handy in that size! Would the Warehouse have one or will I need to go to the likes of Briscoes?

  5. Don’t get me started on ABC – phew! You meant those lovely muffins by Simon and Alison Holst and not the Adventure Buggy Company ;) Don’t get me started on THAT one…
    I’ve made those muffins loads of times and and they go down really well. If you’re into Holst recipes can I suggest the “Marjies Lemon Shortcake” recipe from the book named 100 favourite muffins and slices? It’s fantastic

  6. Hannah – is 24 minis right?? I just made them today and got 48! They are sooooooooo good and I think I could go overboard on the minis, they are so cute lol. The girls like them too so I am thinking I might just freeze some for lunches or quick snacks!

Leave a comment ...

